Friday 14th of June 2024
Fajar 3:45 am
United States

The Islamic definition of a Prophet is someone who has been chosen and favoured by Allah Subhanahu wa ta’ala to convey his message to the people on earth and to bring them to believe in and worship him alone.

In Islam there are two types of Prophets, Nabi and Rasul.

Differences between Nabi and Rasul

A Rasul was a messenger of Allah who was given a new Shariat (codes of law) from Him. And a Nabi was also the messenger of Allah, but he was not given any new Shariat and followed the shariat of earlier Rasul. “Every messenger is a Prophet [Nabi], but not every Prophet is a Rasul [Apostle]. All Rasuls were Nabi but all Nabis were not Rasuls.

There are 25 prophets mentioned by name in the Quran, although Muslims believe that there were much more in different times and places. Among the prophets that Muslims honor are:

1- Prophet Adam

2- Prophet Idris (Enoch)

3- Prophet Nuh (Noah)

4- Prophet Hud (Heber)

5- Prophet Salih

6- Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham)

7- Prophet Lut (Lot)

8- Prophet Isma’il (Ishmael)

9- Prophet Ishaq (Isaac)

10- Prophet Ya’qub (Jacob)

11- Prophet Yusuf (Joseph)

12- Prophet Shu’aib (as)

13- Prophet Ayyub (Job)

14- Prophet Musa (Moses)

15- Prophet Harun (Aaron)

16- Prophet Dhu’l-Kifl (Ezekiel)

17- Prophet Dawud (David)

18- Prophet Sulaiman (Solomon)

19- Prophet Ilyas (Elias)

20- Prophet Al-Yasa (Elisha)

21- Prophet Yunus (Jonah)

22- Prophet Zakariyah (Zechariah)

23- Prophet Yahya (John)

24- Prophet Isa (Jesus)

25- Prophet Muhammad